Asthma Myth: Use of steroids as a treatment option and its side effects



BudesonideReviews

people have reviewed this drug
3.5 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
5 Stars
Posted 142 months ago (1/23/2007)

RatedBudesonidefor Asthma -- MaintenanceReport

Pulmicort Turbuhaler Take one inhalation daily

Report
3 Stars
Posted 145 months ago (10/12/2006)

RatedBudesonidefor Asthma -- MaintenanceReport

I find it restrictive since I have to nubulize. This product is not lactose based therefore it is a product I can use for asthma even tho I have side effects of sinusitis and bronchitis. I use as little as possible and continue rebuilding the immune system with alternative care products and homeopathy.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 146 months ago (9/28/2006)

RatedBudesonidefor Asthma -- MaintenanceReport

good i have had great results with Pulmicort. I haven't noticed any significant side effects.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 148 months ago (7/27/2006)

RatedBudesonidefor Asthma -- MaintenanceReport

Very Happy - No Longer Need Rescue Inhaler Within a week of starting treatment with the Pulmicort Turbuhaler, I no longer need my rescue inhaler, even with long, strenuous exercise sessions. However, I keep it with me just in case. I highly recommend this product. It does cost quite a bit, but insurance usually covers most of the cost. It makes you feel a little strange with the first few uses, but that goes away. Irritability increases a bit as well, but not that much. Overall, I’m very happy!

Report
5 Stars
Posted 152 months ago (4/3/2006)

RatedBudesonidefor Asthma -- MaintenanceReport

Really good Had a headache to start with and a hoarse voice when on 1 puff twice daily. When this was reduced to one puff per day all side effects vanished.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 152 months ago (3/15/2006)

RatedBudesonidefor Asthma -- MaintenanceReport

Pulmicort so far I have no problems using Pulmicort for my Asthma

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 154 months ago (1/25/2006)

RatedBudesonidefor Asthma -- MaintenanceReport

Worked Well But Side Effects Were Terrible I tried using this on several occasions. EVery time, after about 6 days of use, I would get a terrible taste in my mouth, very sore and hoarse throat, sores in my mouth and lack of appetite. It was not thrush, but seemed more like fever blisters in my mouth and possibly throat. I rinsed very well, so it wasn't that. It just seems that budesonide and I are not meant to be. Now I take QVAR with good results and only minor side effects.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 157 months ago (10/25/2005)

RatedBudesonidefor Asthma -- MaintenanceReport

I depend on this Lifelong athsma had gotten worse in my 40's, and I had begun to have severe palpitations, nervousness, and sleeplessness from albuterol. Doc suggested Pulmicort, and I've been on it ever since. With the help of herbs (Khella, Turmeric, Lobelia and Skunk Cabbage) for the occasional flare-up when I get exposed to animals, I can breathe pretty normally most of the time. I actually take 2 puffs once a day most days, but sometimes forget a day without consequences. If I'm going through a wheezier-than-normal spell, I can increase dose to 2 puffs twice daily. It's expensive without insurance, but I've got a life!

Report
0.5 Stars
Posted 159 months ago (8/13/2005)

RatedBudesonidefor Childhood asthmaReport

Pumicort and flixotide for our boy Had very little effect on our boy right through from 3 years to 7 years. Probably a waste of time and risk to our boys health but Singulair seems to work great but is very dissapointing in terms of the Aspartame and possible side effects.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 161 months ago (7/6/2005)

RatedBudesonidefor Asthma -- MaintenanceReport

Pulmicort Turbohaler I have been using a Pulmicort Turbohaler now for well over a year and have found it to be, by far, the easiest way to take the medication with the least associated problems. I do not have to co-ordinate the pressing and the breathing which is important for me now that I have also been diagnosed with Fibromyalgia as sometimes my head doesn't work right with my hands. Also I always found it annoying and off putting to have little bits in my mouth if I had had my original inhaler in my bag or pocket as although the mouthpiece was covered for hygiene there was nothing to stop foreign bodies dropping into the tube from above. It does help to keep my asthma under control and I rarely get episodes of breathlessness and wheezing now unless I have absent mindedly forgotten to take it. I also find that if I forget my pulmicort that I get worse oedema in my hands legs and feet and that takes days then to get back under control. It does definitely help to keep my airways less blocked and I can feel benefits within secs of taking it as well. I know it is not meant to act in that way but it always has done with me. It is like my nostrils can now take in clear clean air without struggling against a blockage.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 161 months ago (7/4/2005)

RatedBudesonidefor Asthma -- MaintenanceReport

Pulmicort I use it intermittantly for flares with allergies or colds, very effective, it does cause hoarseness and has caused thrush. Recently read an article showing minimal increase in effectiveness with very high doses, I use 1-2 puffs once or twice a day depending on my symptoms. Seems to work quickly

Report
0.5 Stars
Posted 172 months ago (8/5/2004)

RatedBudesonidefor Asthma -- MaintenanceReport

Pulmicort I was on this for a week after emergency treatment for exacerbated asthma and a short course of prednisone. The Pulmicort caused bronchospasm that worsened the asthma.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 176 months ago (4/6/2004)

RatedBudesonidefor Childhood asthmaReport

Works fine I used inhaled corticosteroids for asthmatic bronchitis (some sort of asthma, for all I know) up till the age of about 16, when the disease suddenly went away. At one point, I commented to my GP that the turbuhaler my Bricanyl came in was a lot easier to use then the clumsy Becotide thing. I believe the latter was called a diskhaler, and among the many loony inventions to come out of asthma drug companies it was quite possibly the worst; I feel like I ended up spilling about as much of the drug all over the little gizmo as into my lungs. He said he'd switch me to Pulmicort, which came in a handy turbuhaler (called turbohaler elsewhere), just like my Bricanyl. It was much easier to use indeed, but also it magically ended up working a little better. Pulmicort, at least where I'm from (drug prices in the US are *very* different) is much much more expensive than bronchodilators like Ventolin and Bricanyl, but covered fully by insurance so we never noticed. I can't really comment on side effects: if I had them, I probably thought of them as normal, because I'd been on corticosteroids for so awfully long.

Report
2.5 Stars
Posted 177 months ago (2/11/2004)

RatedBudesonidefor Asthma -- MaintenanceReport

Pulmicort I can't tell if it is working or not but my doctor wants me to remain on it. Guess I could tell if I stopped using it.

Report
2 Stars
Posted 178 months ago (2/3/2004)

RatedBudesonidefor Asthma -- MaintenanceReport

Pulmicort can cause psychiatric problems After only one dose of Pulmicort Turbuhaler, I had the side effect of "Steroid Psychosis". I had high blood pressure, anxiety, hallucinations, and delusions. For more info see website: http://members.rogers.com/pulmicort/. I had to be admitted to a psychiatric hospital. This apparently is a very rare side effect, but people should know about it before they try it.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 179 months ago (12/24/2003)

RatedBudesonidefor Asthma -- MaintenanceReport

Pulmicort Works Great! I have been on Pulmicort for about 3-4 years now and I love it. I tried Advair and it was horrible! Powder got all over my teeth and I just couldn't inhale it. I never had this problem with Pulmicort. I used to take it with Serevent but found that I didn't need Serevent when I took Pulmicourt with Singulair. Pulmicort and Singulair have really helped me a great deal. The only time I have an attack now is if I am sick or exposed to cigarette smoke. I have also noticed no side affects at all.

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 179 months ago (12/7/2003)

RatedBudesonidefor Asthma -- MaintenanceReport

Pulmicort Turbohaler I used this medication for several months but received no noticeable benefit from it. I am using Advair Diskus now, and can tell a significant improvement in my asthma with this medication. I also tried the Pulmicort respules in my nebulizer, but again did not find this to be very effective. From a cost standpoint, this is covered under my prescription copay, so it doesn't cost me much. I don't know what the full price is for this medication. Using the Turbohaler is very easy, and I had no side effects from it. Perhaps the difference is the inclusion of Serevent in the Advair diskus.

Report
3 Stars
Posted 180 months ago (11/16/2003)

RatedBudesonidefor Asthma -- MaintenanceReport

pulmicort I still need to use my other inhaler (reliever) after taking this but not every time, like other steriod inhalers I have used. At least Budesonide is helping better than the others I used like becotide. They always made me wheezy after every use and they really didn't seem to be helping me at all. I used Ventolin rotacaps as my reliever and am having to try a new way of taking that as the rotacaps have been taken off the market. Sadly I am not getting along so well with the other forms, so I'm glad I have the Pulmicort. This is the first year without having to go on 2 lots of steroids, normally because the first lot wasn't quite long enough a course. This year I had one sudden severe wheezy attack unlike normal. I thought it might be the Transtec patches I was on, but since then it has not affected me. I find that if I don't take the Pulmicort in the winter I can get away from using any inhalers even once for a good 3-4 weeks at best, although as soon as the pollens in about april start to come out then I start the dose. But as I said I do have to take my reliever most times after using it. which to me seems a bit strange, as its meant to reduce the need for relievers? Hence the reason I don't take from september to april, as I hardly use my reliever. But do need it in the hayfever seasons and would be worse without the pulmicort too in those months. Pulmicort is the best I have found so far in cutting the wheezy attacks from hayfever. Its taken in conjuntion with clarityn too. Elaine Crystal Cavies

Report
4 Stars
Posted 180 months ago (11/16/2003)

RatedBudesonidefor Asthma -- MaintenanceReport

Pulmicort Turbuhaler Throughout my asthmatic life (diagnosed at 6 months am now 57 years) I have used many forms of steroids/steroid inhalers. I was on Aerobid 4 puffs 2x day for several years and recently asked my Dr. about Pulmicort. 1 puff 2x a day was NOT helping so we upped it to 2 puffs 2x a day. As effective if not more than the Aerobid and I only use 2 puffs vs 4 puffs twice a day! A BIG plus is no propellant and no spacer needed. Also, when red appears in the dose window, it means there are 20 doses left. When it reaches the bottom of the window, it's time to get a new turbuhaler - very convenient. Thumbs up!!

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 180 months ago (11/8/2003)

RatedBudesonidefor Asthma -- MaintenanceReport

Pulmicort turbuhaler My asthma varies quite a lot. I also have ADHD, for which I take Ritalin, and as long as my life is not too hectic, the Ritalin will usually be effective in keeping my asthma in check, too, especially in summer. By the way, it seems Ritalin was originally developed as asthma medication in the 1950's, so it is not all that surprising it does some good in that field. After all, Ritalin counteracts an overreaction to stimuli, and asthma is just another type of overreaction. Apparently, Ritalin was abandoned as an asthma treatment due to some side effects (amphetamine rush) often overshadowing its medical effect in all but a subpopulation (which might well be our asthmatic ADHD subjects, as asthma is a rather common ADHD comorbidity). I started using Pulmicort long before my ADHD was diagnosed, and I find it very effective, both by itself and in combination with Ritalin. I now use it - standard - during autumn and winter, as the damp, chilly air will trigger asthma episodes, as does every respiratory virus, which will also cause secundary bronchitis and sinusitis, if I don't use my meds. I also use Flixonase (fluticasone proprionate) to prevent sinusitis.

Report

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: MY LIFE WITH UC | Commonly Used IBD Medications

Budesonide Reviews
Budesonide Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Budesonide Reviews pictures

Budesonide Reviews recommendations
Budesonide Reviews forecast photo

Budesonide Reviews pics
Budesonide Reviews picture

Budesonide Reviews Budesonide Reviews new photo
Budesonide Reviews new images

pictures Budesonide Reviews
pics Budesonide Reviews

Watch Budesonide Reviews video
Watch Budesonide Reviews video

Discussion on this topic: Budesonide Reviews, budesonide-reviews/
Forum on this topic: Budesonide Reviews, budesonide-reviews/ , budesonide-reviews/

Related News


IBS and Stress Management
4 Easy Ways to Make Gak
Best foods for glowing and healthy skin
Tuft and Needle Pouch bean bag chair review
15 Modern Ways to Slay the Black and White DécorTrend
How to Polish a Car
Byblos SpringSummer 2019 Collection – Milan Fashion Week
How to Explain Ankylosing Spondylitis to Others
Cytarabine Reviews
The Popular Type of Sex That Can Literally Kill You
Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe
These Are Going to Be the Biggest Hair Colours Come Autumn
Getting A Dermal Piercing – What You Should Know
How to Start a Journal Entry



Date: 06.12.2018, 20:11 / Views: 85235